Founder & Chief Designer at Authentic Design | Former Director of user experience at Microsoft

Surya Vanka

Position: Founder & Chief Designer at Authentic Design

Surya Vanka is a transdisciplinary designer who has worked at the leading edge of physical and digital experiences. He is founder of Authentic Design, president emeritus of the Seattle Design Festival and was chair of Interaction Week. Surya was director of user experience at Microsoft, a tenured professor of design at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and a fellow at the prestigious Center for Advanced Study. Surya is creator of Design Swarms method, a lightweight design technique used in business, non-profit and education worldwide, and has been used at companies like Amazon, Amgen, Autodesk, Callison, Deutsche Bank, Lilly, T-Mobile, Microsoft, and REI.

Surya won the Microsoft Engineering Best Practice Awards twice, Ohio State University 50th Anniversary Distinguished Design Alumnus Award, Microsoft Achievement Award, Accessibility Achievement Award, World Brand Congress Leadership Award and several other industry recognitions. He is member of Word Design Organization, served on the jury of global design awards like Singapore Design Mark and on the boards of organizations like the Design Management Institute, Seattle Interactive and Design in Public. He frequently keynotes speeches at the most prestigious conferences and has won top speaker awards three times. His work has appeared in numerous publications and news programs, including TEDx, Form, I.D., Design Council, WIRED, Interactions, the BBC and National Public Radio. Surya is the author of two books on design, several publications, and has taught design on every continent but Antarctica.

#itoday a worldwide community of Innovators

Lisa Weinsberger

Remote Design Sprint & Innovation Facilitator at Designtribe

Mikhaél Minisini

Director at Apptitude SA

Prescott Paulin

Managing Director - Iquro Development Group, LLC

Julien Suard

Lead Product Designer UX / UI at Design Sprint Ltd- itoday Conference Organizer

John Elbing

Coach/Consultant/Storyteller at Standpoint

Anaïs Salson

Entrepreneur, Globe Trotter, Speaker - Try The New

Mariella Pastori

Innovation Consultant at MPConsulting

Alex Osterwalder

Co-founder Strategyzer

Surya Vanka

Founder & Chief Designer at Authentic Design

Arnaud Begle

Group CEO at Peter Lang

Fatemeh Ghadamieh

CEO at Limoo

Jeroen Frumau

Owner at Talents-4U BV

Başak Çevik

Consultant - StratejiCo

Alban Vogel

Product Designer - Cleverdist SA

Daniel Herrera

Product Design Engineer & Innovation Strategist at Dees Studio

Katie Swindler

User Experience Strategist - Allstate

Marco D’Amico

Strategic Innovation Advisor at oobrain S.r.l. SB

Shaun Miller

Head of Strategy at House

Luis González

Product Designer / UX-UI - Freelancer / Startuper

Alona Nadieieva

Pega CSSA at Knowledge Expert

Caroline Pratte

Founder at

Fides Fierz

Owner at Capsica23

Kai Haley

Head of UX Methods and Process at Google

Roy Franke

Innovation facilitator at 2get-there GmbH

Cédric Hofstetter

Product Owner Web at A. Lange & Söhne

Mathilde Verdier

Social Innovation Strategist / UX/UI Designer in Training

Sabrina Goerlich

Founder | Strategic Designer at Designsprintstudio

Clemence de Robert

UX Designer

Thiago Tonus

Head of Product Design - Logic Design

Sabine Dufaux

Product Designer & Business Developer at Romande Energie

François de Caro

Founder & UX Designer at D-Sprint

Damien Fournier

Founder- Director at deus ex digital

Sasa Spasic

Business Design and Innovation

Chris Hodges

Design Lead at Siemens

Emilie Boillat

Business Developer at Liip AG

Jean-Philippe van den Hove

Founder at Alphabeta

Orlane Perey

Designer & Art Director at Serendipity Agency

Shirah Foy

Postdoctoral Researcher - Entrepreneurship & Tech Commercialization at EPFL

Gael Close

Staff System Architect at Melexis

Diana Liu

Founder | Instigator | Fun Maker - The SIX

Sarah fleury

EPFL Master Student in Management, Technology and Entrepreneurship

Eglé Cruchon

itoday Conference Organizer / Office & Event Manager at Design Sprint Ltd

Alexander Sattler

Transformation Consultant - Sattler Consulting

Jakub (Jacob) Korczak

Co-founder at JQK-on

Olivier Chappuis

Innovation Lab Manager at Maxon

Anne Donnard

Executive Creative Director at Emerson Blue

Srini Srinivasan

President - World Design Organization WDO

Claude-Alain Glauser

Solution Unit Manager at Trivadis

Jean-Marie Buchilly

Innovation Cell Manager at Fischer Connectors

Jackie Colburn

Product Leader. Facilitator. Design Sprinter. Experimenter. Educator. - Independent Consultant
Thinkspace Rue Etraz 4, 1003 Lausanne – CH
UID: CHE‑438.513.066

Receive Itoday's News?

Privacy Preference Center